The Newseum: Heaven for PR Students

Clean and crisp decor, the quiet hum of “oohs” and “aahs” and the staircase that literally leads to heaven, the Newseum is like a playground of inspiration for PR students.

My first moment of inspiration happened on the first floor of the museum in the Pulitzer Prize Photographs Gallery exhibit. I’ve always enjoyed photography and this showcase reminded me how effective visuals can be when reporting news.

After the photo exhibit I climbed up the steps to the second floor where the “First Dogs: American Presidents and Their Pets” exhibit is. I decided what I was feeling was more nostalgia for my dog at home than inspiration for my PR career.

The fourth floor is where I found the 9/11 Gallery Sponsored by Comcast, which gave me the chills right away. I was inspired by the chronological order of news reports from that day, and especially by the piece of antenna from one of the towers the museum had on display; however, my experience with disaster writing led me back to the stairs.

Finally, on the sixth and final floor, I found my inspiration. No, it wasn’t the panoramic view of Pennsylvania Avenue, or even the great photo opportunity. It was the Today’s Front Pages Gallery, which includes 80 front pages from around the world every day.

The Newseum updates the Today's Front Pages Gallery every day with 80 front pages from around the world.  Photo by: Talia Franco

The Newseum updates the Today’s Front Pages Gallery every day with 80 front pages from around the world.
Photo by: Talia Franco

I wasn’t expecting to be moved by such a simple exhibit, but I couldn’t help but be inspired by the different styles, colors, photos, stories and layouts, and the fact that with all these differences there is one common denominator: news.

Seeing this exhibit reminded me why I love this major. Yes, it is brutal and painful to memorize grammar, spelling, punctuation and copy edit symbols, but it’s so worth it. The Today’s Front Pages Gallery made me feel like a part of something bigger than just a degree or a resume, I’m learning how to write and report the news of the entire world.

