Three Keys to Fashion PR

I'm not kidding. My mother really did lock me out of her jewelry box.  Photo source: Talia Franco

I’m not kidding. My mother really did lock me out of her jewelry box.
Photo source: Talia Franco

My mother used to lock her jewelry box, hide the costumes and put her shoes up high. I’ve always been obsessed with what I’m wearing, how I look and what’s in style. I follow countless models, designers and fashion bloggers on Instagram and Twitter. I practically scream with excitement for award show season to see what all the glamorous celebrities are wearing. I live by Deion Sanders’ famous quote, “If you look good, you feel good, if you feel good, you play good, if you play good, they pay good.” Don’t worry, I KNOW I’m not a professional football or baseball player, but the advice is good either way: dress well to do well.

Dressing well isn’t all you need, though. Here are three tips to succeed in the fashion PR world:

1. Plan great events

Everyone is obsessed with social media. Tweets and hashtags and hashtags and tweets! It’s almost as if no one knows how to communication face-to-face anymore. Runway shows, grand openings, sneak peaks and special sales are just a few of the valuable events that are used in the fashion world.

TopShop hosted an event for fashion bloggers to get a sneak peak at the store’s new personal shopping experience. This event helped TopShop get a glance at what works and what doesn’t while gaining publicity from the attendees who would go home and write about it.

2. Use social media effectively

Man Repeller dressing the part for New York Fashion Week 2015.  Photo Source: http://www.manrepeller.com/manstagrams/page/3

Man Repeller dressing the part for New York Fashion Week 2015.
Photo Source: http://www.manrepeller.com/manstagrams/page/3

Speaking of writing…although I mentioned that social media may or may not be eliminating any or all reasons to get out of bed. Ever. It’s still pretty important in the fashion PR world.

Fashion bloggers use Instagram, Twitter and most of all, blogs to discuss, critique and explore today’s fashion trends. My favorite blogger calls herself the Man Repeller. I don’t know if she’s really repelling any men (she’s married to a cutie,) but she sure is attracting thousands of followers.

3. Engage the consumers

Social media can be used to gain followers and attention for sales and openings, but one of the most effective uses of it is engaging the consumers. Kendall and Kylie Jenner used Instagram for a meet and greet contest at Pacsun.

To enter into the contest one had to repost Pacsun’s photo with the hashtag #KANDKNYC. Want to guess how many followers Pacsun gained from this? Me neither, I hate math.

